Home > Newsletter > Giver Numbers Hit 1,200 As 28 Eastern Hydros Staff Sign Up

The KenGen Employee Giver Initiative subscriptions now stand at 1,200 members after the Foundation team concluded a 2-day recruitment and appreciation exercise at Eastern Hydros from 13 – 14 September.

Eastern Hydros Operation’s Manager Eng. Francis Kawa addresses the area Givers.

The Foundation team was well received at the 7-Forks stations of Masinga, Kamburu, Gitaru, Kindaruma, and Kiambere with staff eager to learn more about how they could be part of KenGen’s Corporate Social Investment activities.

READ MORE: Giver Initiative Welcomes Upper Tana Champions

Gitaru power station had the highest number of new subscribers with 28 staff signing up, followed by Kamburu with 13, Kindaruma – 10, Kiambere – 8, and Masinga – 3.

The Foundation’s Snr. Fundraising Officer Catherine Kwena with the Managing Trustee Mike Njeru during the event.

Eastern Hydros Operations Manager Eng. Francis Kawa, himself an ardent Giver in his own right, was humbled by the dedication shown by the area Givers and encouraged them to sign up their colleagues who are yet to subscribe to the initiative.

READ MORE: New Givers Sign Up at the 5th G2G Innovation Seminar

During an evening cocktail held in appreciation of all Eastern Hydros Givers, the Foundation’s Managing Trustee Mike Njeru congratulated all subscribers for their efforts and commitment to the initiative.

“It is through your contributions that we as a company can continue touching lives as we expand our social programs”, said Mike Njeru.

“Collectively, we are now in a better position to support extra students under the education pillar, and also scale up the company’s environmental conservation projects”, he added.

During the appreciation ceremony, where the famous acapela group Ninga Melodies gave an electrifying performance, Omar Abdi and Nathan Ngumi were elected as Gitaru champions, while Keneth Otieno and Henry Muithya will represent Kamburu and Kindaruma power stations respectively.

Nancy Chepkosgei was nominated as Kiambere power station champion, and Patrick Ndirangu will represent Masinga.

Congratulation champions, and welcome!

Follow us on Twitter through @KenGen_Foundatn and like our Facebook page for more updates.

Ernest Nyamasyo, Communication Officer

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *